top of page
Search
  • Alethea Freidberg

An Introduction To Industry Plant

Updated: Mar 14

Hi! Welcome to Industry Plant: a digital space dedicated to all things music industry. This unique publication represents my little corner of the internet dedicated to me showcasing my thoughts and commentary on working in the music industry, fandom and fan engagement, new (and old) music discovery, and everything in between. 


Industry Plant comes from a place where most music outlets are either dedicated to music journalism or providing music industry news. I felt as if there was untapped coverage outside traditional social media such as LinkedIn and music industry podcasts that primarily focuses on working in music and entertainment, rather than exclusively sharing music industry news or journalism. This is more than just that, but a way to highlight the realities of coming up into a career in the music industry.


A bit more about me: I’m Alethea Freidberg, a music industry professional and a 2023 USC Music Industry graduate. My world has revolved around music for as long as I can remember, and soon as I realized I could pursue a career in the music industry at 13, I knew I had to make it my mission to achieve my dreams of working in music. My career interests lie with the creative side of the music industry, with interests in A&R, marketing, digital marketing, artist relations, fan engagement, publicity, and brand partnerships. My long-term goal is to be a successful music executive, and I am open to any path that will lead me there on my career journey.


Which leads me to why I’ve decided to create Industry Plant: my journey into the music industry has taken lots of twists and turns over the past few years, and upon reflecting on the job search, I’ve come to realize that the best opportunities come out of creating your own, and that there is so much knowledge to be collectively shared. I want this publication to act as my diary of sorts, a resource for anyone in or aspiring to work in the music industry. This project is coming from a place of unwavering passion about music, and despite my early career journey not being in the place where I would've liked it to be by now, I am still hungrier than ever, and willing to work harder than ever to achieve my career goals. By being the one to take a chance on myself, I'm fueling the fire within me despite all of the trials and tribulations in my career journey so far.


And what’s expected to be covered here? I’m planning on writing about a variety of topics, ranging from things nobody tells you about entering the music industry, to everything you need to know before attending Coachella, to the best breakup albums, to the TikTokification of concerts, and even what it’s truly like being a woman in the industry, and more! I personally love rambling on and on and exploring ideas that fascinate me, and if you’re in search of reading insightful music-related pieces, look no further. 


I cannot wait to dive head-first into this little project of mine and when I’m further along in my career, I want to look back and be proud of what I’ve done as I try to make a splash in the music industry.


With love & light,

Alethea

Comments


bottom of page